John Coltrane & Don Cherry - The Avant-Garde (2016) {Bonus Tracks}

  • 09 Feb, 23:52
  • change text size:

Title: The Avant-Garde
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Essential Jazz Classics[EJC55700]
Genre: Jazz, Free Jazz, Avantgarde
Quality: FLAC (tracks + .cue,log)
Total Time: 61:51
Total Size: 362 MB(+3%)


01. Cherryco (Cherry) - 6:48
02. Focus on Sanity (Coleman) - 12:14
03. The Blessing (Coleman) - 7:54
04. The Invisible (Coleman) - 4:13
05. Bemsha Swing (Monk) - 5:08
Bonus Tracks:
06. Focus on Sanity (original Ornette Coleman version) (Coleman) - 6:53
07. The Blessing (original Ornette Coleman version) (Coleman) - 4:48
08. The Invisible (original Ornette Coleman version) (Coleman) - 4:17
09. The Blessing (live Ornette Coleman version) (Coleman) - 9:36

John Coltrane & Don Cherry - The Avant-Garde (2016) {Bonus Tracks}

John Coltrane formed his first quartet as a leader at New York’s Jazz Gallery in May 1960. He also began playing the soprano saxophone during his tenure at that club. In that exact period he recorded his one and only session with trumpeter Don Cherry, released as The Avant-Garde (Atlantic SD1451). On this album Trane doubles on soprano, but none of the members of his regular quartet (at that time McCoy Tyner, Steve Davis and Pete La Roca) are heard here. Instead, for his date with Cherry, the saxophonist chose a format more closely associated with Cherry’s longtime associate Ornette Coleman, the pianoless quartet. Charlie Haden and Percy Heath –alternating on bass–, and Ed Blackwell –on drums – complete the group.
As a bonus, the original studio versions of the three Ornette Coleman compositions included on this album (featuring Coleman with Don Cherry and Charlie Haden), as well as a rare live reading of “The Blessing” by Coleman’s group.