Chris Connor - Chris in Person (Live) (2019)

  • 02 Apr, 10:33
  • change text size:

Title: Chris in Person (Live)
Year Of Release: 2019
Label: Music Manager
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 00:39:09
Total Size: 205 MB


01 - Introduction / Strike up the Band 02:22
02 - Misty 03:09
03 - Senor Blues 03:21
04 - Lover Come Back to Me 02:47
05 - Angel Eyes 04:10
06 - Hallelujah I Love Him So 02:44
07 - Poor Little Rich Girl 02:43
08 - 'Round Midnight 03:50
09 - All About Ronnie 02:58
10 - Fine and Dandy 02:19
11 - Don't Worry 'Bout Me 02:44
12 - It Don't Mean a Thing (If it Ain't got That Swing) 03:30
13 - Chinatown, My Chinatown 02:32

Review by John Bush
Recorded at the Village Vanguard with a great quartet (including guest Kenny Burrell on guitar), Chris in Person finds vocal heavyweight Chris Connor showing an even better sense of chops and swing as on her studio dates. She gets off to a great start with the apt "Strike up the Band," torches her way through a few of her standards ("Lover Come Back to Me," "Angel Eyes," "'Round Midnight"), and shows she can swing in a soul groove with an ebullient cover of Ray Charles' "Hallelujah I Love Him So." Add in a pair of songs, "Poor Little Rich Girl" and "All About Ronnie," known best (if at all) as Chris Connor songs, and fans of the best cool singer of the '50s get a rich, dynamic live set showing Connor lighting up a crowd.