Freddie Hubbard - Sweet Return (1983/2014) Hi-Res

  • 02 Apr, 23:37
  • change text size:

Title: Sweet Return
Year Of Release: 1983/2014
Label: Rhino Atlantic
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (*tracks) | 24 Bit/192 kHz
Total Time: 00:47:57
Total Size: 1.68 GB (+5%rec.)

One of Freddie Hubbard's best albums since the early '70's, this quintet date finds him joined by quite an all-star lineup: Lew Tabackin on tenor and flute, pianist Joanne Brackeen (who has many fine solos throughout the album), bassist Eddie Gomez and drummer Roy Haynes. Highpoints include Hubbard's tender version of "Misty" (at the time he had a particularly lovely tone on fluegelhorn), Brackeen's "Heidi-B" and the quintet's rendition of the standard "The Night Has a Thousand Eyes."


01. Sweet Return 9:24
02. Misty 5:59
03. Whistling Away The Dark 5:06
04. Calypso Fred 4:13
05. Hedi-B 12:54
06. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes 10:21


Freddie Hubbard (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)
Lew Tabackin (TenorSax, Flute, AltoFlute)
Joanne Brackeen (Piano)
Eddie Gomez (Bass)
Roy Haynes (Drums)
Hector Andrade (Percussion)