Jamie Finlay - Sun Dogs (2024) [Hi-Res]

  • 14 Jun, 13:03
  • change text size:

Title: Sun Dogs
Year Of Release: 2024
Label: Wah Wah 45s
Genre: Soul, Nu Jazz, Funk, Broken Beat
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks) / 24bit-44.1kHz FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 40:49
Total Size: 96.6 / 263 / 471 MB


1. Destroy Create (Part I) [feat. Kemani Anderson] (1:50)
2. Rain Will Come (8:25)
3. Staring at the Sun (feat. Caitlin LM) (4:43)
4. Family (feat. Ellen Beth Abdi) (3:06)
5. Parhelion (6:38)
6. Give Back My Love (feat. Ellen Beth Abdi) (3:36)
7. Destroy Create (Part II) [feat. Kemani Anderson & Ellen Beth Abdi] (5:26)
8. Daylight (feat. Ellen Beth Abdi) (7:10)

Wah Wah 45s are very proud to present Sun Dogs, the incredible debut album from composer, songwriter and producer Jamie Finlay - a unique blend of electric soul, spiritual jazz and psychedelia. A deeply layered and personal album that explores themes of love, loss, grief, and finding strength through turbulent times.

With their expansive arrangements and complex harmonies, you can hear the spiritual jazz influences of Lonnie Liston Smith and Pharaoh Sanders on the two opening tracks, Destroy Create Part 1 and Rain Will Come. These are followed by the Ethio-jazz leaning Staring at the Sun, with its pounding baritone sax chorus and ethereal vocals. Next up is the stripped back psyche soul of Family, the album's first single, with a haunting performance from Ellen Beth Abdi. Parhelion calls to mind Headhunters-era Herbie, with its off kilter jazz-fusion vibe, and is followed by the bittersweet Give Back My Love, which comes across like Stereolab and Everything But The Girl meets Rotary Connection. Penultimate song Destroy Create Part 2 leads us into broken-beat territory, and finally, with it’s pulsing bassline, layered vocal harmonies and crescendos, the closing track, Daylight, is an optimistic future anthem, bringing to mind the work of Charles Stepney, the Mizell Brothers and James Mason.

Sun Dogs was recorded between 2022 and 2023 with a core band of Jamie Finlay working with keyboardist, arranger and producer Matt Steele, drummer Erroll Rollins and singer, producer and multi-instrumentalist Ellen Beth Abdi (A Certain Ratio), who appears across the album, and features on its three singles. The album features collaborations with singer, producer and saxophonist Caitlin LM, Kemani Anderson of Secret Night Gang and supporting musicians Bryan Corbett (trumpet/flute), Chris Bowden (saxophones), Hannah McGuigain (vocals), Dan Carpenter (trumpet) and Atholl Ransome (saxophones). The album was mixed by Jamie Finlay together with engineer Phil Kirby (Mr. Scruff, 808 State).