Zara McFarlane - Sweet Whispers: Celebrating Sarah Vaughan (2024) [Hi-Res]

  • 14 Jun, 13:39
  • change text size:

Title: Sweet Whispers: Celebrating Sarah Vaughan
Year Of Release: 2024
Label: Eternal Source of Light
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 320 kbps / FLAC (tracks) / 24bit-96kHz FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 43:51
Total Size: 103 / 289 / 983 MB


1. Tenderly (5:49)
2. Mean To Me (3:46)
3. Inner City Blues (4:40)
4. September Song (3:18)
5. Great Day (2:35)
6. If You Could See Me Now (5:41)
7. Interlude (3:43)
8. Obsession (4:10)
9. The Mystery of Man (3:13)
10. Stardust (4:30)
11. Sweet Whispers (2:33)

Multi-award-winning singer-songwriter and leading UK jazz vocalist Zara McFarlane releases Sweet Whispers – Celebrating Sarah Vaughan on 14th June. The album honours the jazz great who inspired her on her own artistic journey and whose centenary year is marked in 2024.

‘Sweet Whispers’ is more than a run-through of some of Vaughan’s most popular songs. It’s not hard to imagine the immense task in selecting those songs, after all, Vaughan’s recording career spanned 50 years notching up almost 60 albums (plus nearly 30 again in compilations and box sets). Through a thoughtfully chosen selection of songs, formed across months in collaboration with producer, and the album’s clarinettist and saxman, Giacomo Smith – Zara journeys through the musical life of Sarah Vaughan, from her first to last recording, bringing to life and breathing new life into some of her best and less familiar songs. But importantly, the songs that mean the most to Zara.

Zara McFarlane said “It was when I started to listen to Sarah Vaughan that I really began to appreciate jazz vocals. She had such control across her range and a vocal command that was cheeky, playful and fun yet sophisticated and articulate. I really wanted to pay homage to her as I feel she has been somewhat overlooked amongst the jazz singers. Although I do love Ella and Billie, it's all about Sarah for me.”

‘Sweet Whispers – Celebrating Sarah Vaughan’ was recorded analogue at Durham Studios, London. Giacomo assembled a stellar cast of musicians - Joe Webb on piano, Ferg Ireland on double bass, Jas Kayser on drums, Marlon Hibbert on Steel Pan and Gabriella Swallow on cello – to record 11 tracks live to tape; with minimal overdubs, the recording has retained a live, vintage feel.

A celebration of Sarah Vaughan could be in no better hands than that of Zara McFarlane, who makes an inspired homage to the ‘Divine One’. Beautifully performed in Zara’s own inimitable style, with her own playful swoops and slides, she has added her own touch to the music. With a silken voice and timbre that brings emotional depth, attitude and personality to this collection of Sarah Vaughan songs, this is a masterful celebration.